Teodor Shanin

d892456b068df59629658684fd20130a.JPG

Teodor Shanin, OBE, PhD

Professor Emeritus of Manchester University, President of MSSES

E-mail: shanin@universitas.ru
Telephones: (w)+7-4954347282 
Addresses: 119571, Moscow, prospect Vernadskogo, 82, bld 2 (work)

Curriculum Vitae

Professor Teodor Shanin, OBE, PhD
President of the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences
Professor Emeritus of the University of Manchester, UK
Honorary Fellow of the Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences

Date of Birth: 29th October 1930
Place of Birth: Wilno/Vilnius, Poland (when born), now Lithuania;
Citizenship: British

Main research interests: peasant studies, historical sociology, sociology of knowledge, interdisciplinarity, informal economies, epistemology and higher education as such.

Professor Teodor Shanin, OBE, president of the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences, who’s long commitment to studies of peasant societies, historical sociology and epistemology as well as active involvement in building up of effective academic structures led to a prolific academic career and earned him numerous accolades.

Teodor Shanin was born in Wilno\Vilnius in 1930. He was exiled to Siberia in 1941 and after being freed on amnesty lived in Samarkand, Lodze, and Paris. In early 1948 left for Palestine to take part in Israeli War of Independence (Palmah: Harel brigade). In 1952 graduated from Jerusalem University College of Social Work, followed by professional career in social work (criminalized youth, probation, TB hospital, directing rehabilitation center for physically and mentally handicapped). Since 1956 part-time studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Graduated in sociology and economics in 1962. PhD in sociology in 1970 at the University of Birmingham (dissertation “Cyclical mobility and Political Consciousness of Russian Peasants 1910-1925”). Lecturer at Sheffield University, and as of 1974 Professor of Sociology at Manchester University. Honorary Fellow of The Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences. Rector of the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences. Fellow at St’Antony’s college, Oxford, Visiting Professor at Ann Arbour Colombia University(US).

Awarded OBE (Officer of British Empire) for a work on developing of university education in Russia.

 Professor Shanin has been one of originators of contemporary peasant studies. He made his name by his books “The Awkward Class” and “Peasants and Peasant Societies” of which the last reprinted numerous times and in many languages, becoming for a time a basic textbook delimiting the topic. One of the initial team of editors of Journal of Peasant Studies. His other works and teaching addressed historical sociology, social economics, epistemology, interdisciplinary studies, political sciences and rural history. He paid particular attention to conceptualization and analysis of the so-called “developing societies”. Fieldwork in Iran, Mexico, Tanzania and Russia. Shanin’s methods stressed particularly interdisciplinary issues, and points of meeting of sociology with history, economics philosophy and political sciences. He describes himself professionally as a historical sociologist.

Much of Professor Shanin’s was given to Russia and bringing to life methodological traditions of Russia’s rural studies of early 20th century. It was also Russia where his research overspilled into active involvement in organization within the educational sphere. This began in the early days of “perestroika” when together with academician Tatyana Zaslavskaya he set up schools for up-training of young soviet sociologists. The high point of those efforts became creation in 1995 of a Russian-English post-graduate university: the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences who’s first rector he became. He is now President of that graduate university. He was also instrumental in setting up of the InterCentre - а multi-disciplinary research unit of MSSES. Central for his vision and analytical work were efforts to overcome the over-simplifications of the theories of “progress”. His works reflect impacts of scholars whom Shanin considers his teachers: Mark Bloch, Alexander Chayanov, Charles Wright Mills and Paul Baran. In his later research, he put forward the concept of expolary economies – types of informal economy which challenge neoclassical economics as well as related to it state policies. 


Books 

Books in English:

  • ‘Peasants and Peasant Societies’ (ed.) Penguin Books, 1971; 
  •  "The Awkward class: Political Sociology of Peasantry in a Developing Society: Russia 1910-1925" Claredron Press, 1972,
  • “The Rules of the Game: Models in Contemporary Scholarly Thought” (ed.)  Tavistoc Publications, 1972;
  • Late Marx and the Russian Road: Marx and the Peripheries of Capitalism", Routledge, GB. Monthly Review US, 1983; 
  •  “Russia as a Developing Society: Roots of Otherness, Russia's Turn of Century” Macmillan, 1985; 
  • “Revolution as a Moment of Truth: 1905-1907→1917-1922” Yale University Press, 1986; 
  • "Defining Peasants: Essays Concerning Rural Societies: Expolary economies and Learning from Them” Blackwell Publishing, 1990; 

Books in Russian: 

  • Отцы и дети. Поколенческий анализ современной России, Левада Ю., Шанин Т., НЛО 2003 [Generational Analysis of Contemporary Russia] 
  • Крестьянское восстание в Тамбовской губернии в 1919-1921гг. Антоновщина, (ed. together with V.Danilov) Тамбов, 1994 [The Peasant War in Tambov Region in 1919-1921. Antonovschina]
  • Неформальная Экономика: Россия и Мир, (ed.)  Логос, 1999 [Informal economies: Russia and the World];
  • Рефлексивное крестьяноведение и десятилетие исследований сельской России, (ed. together with A.Nikulin and V.Danilov)    РОССПЭН, 2002 [Reflexive Peasantology];

Теодор Шанин

Церемония-2014-05.JPG

Теодор Шанин, OBE 
Профессор Манчестерского университета
Президент Московской школы Социальных и Экономических Наук
Почётный член Российской Академии Сельскохозяйственный Наук


Профессор Теодор Шанин, OBE, Президент МВСШЭН внёс значительный вклад в крестьяноведение, историческую социологию и эпистемологию. Играл большую роль в развитии новых форм академического образования в России. Удостоен многочисленных наград. 

Главные темы научных исследований: крестьяноведение, историческая социология, социология знания, неформальные экономики и эпистемология общественных наук. 

Теодор Шанин родился в Вильно\Вильнюсе в 1930г. В начале 1941г. сослан в Алтайский Край, и будучи освобождён по амнистии польских граждан проживал в Самарканде, потом в Лодзи и в Париже. В 1948 выехал в Палестину для участия добровольцем в Войне за Независимость Израиля (бригада Гарель, Пальмах). В 1951-1952гг учился в Иерусалимском Университетском Колледже Социальной Работы, после чего продолжил профессиональную карьеру в социальной работе (криминальная молодёжь, туберкулёзная больница, реабилитация инвалидов). В 1959г продолжил высшее образование в Еврейском Университете Иерусалима, который окончил в 1962 году (факультеты социологии и экономики). Получил PhD в 1970 в Бирмингемском университете (тема докторской работы «Цикличная мобильность и политическое сознание русских крестьян 1910-1925гг»). Преподавал социологию в Шеффилдском университете, а, начиная с 1974г – профессор социологии в Манчестерском университете. Почётный член Российской академии сельскохозяйственных наук.  

Профессор Шанин – один из создателей современного крестьяноведения. Он стал известным благодаря его книгам «Неудобный класс» (“The Awkward Class”) и «Крестьяне и Крестьянские экономики» («Peasants and Peasant Societies»), последняя, изданная на многих языках, стала одним из базовых учебников по теме крестьяноведения. Другие работы и темы его преподавательской  исследовательской деятельности посвящены эпистемологии, исторической социологии, социальной экономике, политологии и истории сельских сообществ. В течение этого периода проводил полевые исследования в Иране, Мексике, Танзании и России. Особенностью метода профессора Шанина являлась акцентуация междисциплинарных тем и точек пересечения социологии с историей, философией, экономикой и политическими науками.

В своей работе профессор Шанин уделял особое внимание российскому обществу и дальнейшему развитию методологических традиций российских сельских исследований. В этой области его исследовательская работа перекликалась с активными действиями по трансформации российского обществоведения. В ранние дни перестройки вместе с академиком Татьяной Заславской он создал школу для доподготовки молодых советских социологов. Важнейшим достижением в этих усилиях стало создание пост-дипломного русско-английского университета МВШСЭН, чьим первым ректором он стал в 1995 году. Параллельно он стоял у истоков создания Интерцентра – междисциплинарной исследовательской организации. Его видение и аналитическая работа в большой мере фокусировались на борьбе против упрощенчеств теории прогресса и связанных с ней скоропалительных решений в агрокультуре так называемых «развивающихся» стран. Его работа опиралась на труды учёных, которых Теодор Шанин считает своими учителями: Марк Блох, Чарльз Райт-Миллз, Поль Суизи, Поль Баран и Александр Чаянов. В своих поздних работах Теодор Шанин предложил понятие «эксполярная экономика» для определения экономик, которые представляют вызов неоклассической экономики и связанных с ней форм современного социального и политического планирования. 





Видео:






Публикации:
  • ‘Peasants and Peasant Societies’ (Penguin Books, 1971); в переводе на русский «Крестьяне и крестьянские хозяйства»
  •  "The Awkward class: Political Sociology of Peasantry in a Developing Society: Russia 1910-1925" (Claredron Press, 1972),
  • “The Rules of the Game: Models in Contemporary Scholarly Thought” (Tavistoc Publications, 1972); 
  • “Russia as a Developing Society: Roots of Otherness, Russia's Turn of Century” (Macmillan, 1985); 
  • “Revolution as a Moment of Truth” (Yale University Press, 1986) в переводе на русский “Революция как момент истины»
  • Late Marx and the Russian Road: Marx and the Peripheries of Capitalism". (Monthly Review US, 1983); 
  • "Defining Peasants: Essays Concerning Rural Societies” (Blackwell Publishing, 1990);
  •  ‘Expolary Economies in Contemporary World" (Blackwell Publishing, 1990); 
  • “Неформальная Экономика: Россия и Мир” (Москва, Логос, 1999);
  •  “История поколений и поколенческая история” (В соавторстве с Ю.Левадой) (журнал «Человек.Сообщество.Управление» №3/2005); 



Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1